This breed was developed after 20 years of breeding and selection. The Cornell Small Farms Program is housed at Cornell University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) in Ithaca, NY, and works in partnership with Cornell Cooperative Extension across New York State. As far as winter hardiness is concerned, I have my sheep out in zero degree weather. Disposition & Mothering Ability: Ewes have good mothering ability and lamb easily unassisted. But what about the market lambs getting too fat? Request PDF | Signatures of selection in sheep and goats infected with Haemonchus contortus | Host genetic variation for resistance to Haemonchus contortus allows selective breeding of animals for . (I know, Im not a good farmer) They are also well suited to survive in the arid extensive regions of South Africa. The only problem with colesterol is that the big pharma found a new drug to sell. Are Llamas Dangerous? Weight Gain/Daily: 0.4 lbs daily with good nutrition. They were called Africans at the time. You will find the occasional larger patch of wool in your pasture and you will definitely find wool and hair on the trees where the sheep rub. Lambing %: Average lambing rate is between 150 and 250%. As they say, the proof is in the pudding eating. Katahdin ewes weigh around 125-185 pounds, and rams average around 200 pounds. 2 are Katahdin and 2 are katahdin/dorper crosses. There is a growing market demand for high-quality, naturally-fed lamb. These slaughter lambs sell comparable to pure Katahdin sheep per pound unless theyre full of cockleburs and briars. The St Croix are also quiet, but seem to be next on the ladder. If you have a disability and are having trouble accessing information on this website or need materials in an alternate format, please contact Cornell University via email at, Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogoh:n. we find dorpers a great sheep to raise and to eat.. had ribs tonight and use the grease on the dry d